View Single Post
  #13  
Old August 30th 04, 06:36 PM
Eric Greenwell
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

John Cochrane wrote:
The obscure provision of the rules that stops you from keeping one
"finish" in the bag and trying for more is this one:

11.2.2.4.4 If all claimed turnpoints are valid, and the pilot
obtained a scored start time, a finish time prior to finish closing
and landed at the contest site, then the pilot has completed the task.

Note "And landed at the contest site." Yes, you can go back and go
deeper into the last turn, and you can also try more turnpoints on an
MAT, but if you land out you don't get to call your pass by the
airport a "finish".


So, if a motorglider pilot tried this, then ended up using the motor
(effectively a landout) to return to the contest site, he would have
hurt his score just as much as the pilot of an unpowered glider that
tries the same thing and actually lands out.


--
Change "netto" to "net" to email me directly

Eric Greenwell
Washington State
USA