Thread
:
TAT scoring question
View Single Post
#
22
September 1st 04, 02:47 AM
Jonathan Gere
external usenet poster
Posts: n/a
(Tom Serkowski) wrote in message
Suppose I'm flying a POST and do the following:
Start, A, B, Home, C, D, Finish
If the 'Home' TP happens to coincide with the Finish cylinder, then
I'm unable to claim part of my valid task by your definition. If the
finish cylinder is on the B - Home or Home - C leg, must I go around
it?
It is easy to fly through the start/finish zones without starting or
finishing:
1) Don't announce a S or F on the radio
2) Don't claim a S or F at that point on your landing card
What if I come home and plan to go to C, but circumstances are such
that I decide to finish instead. Do have to reenter the finish
cylinder to get a valid finish or did that entry I made 10 minutes (or
2 hours, since I spent that time at 500' a mile the other side of the
airport) ago count for a finish?
It did not count for a finish, because you didn't announce it on the
radio. If you did call a finish, you are done after one lap and can't
go on later. I'm not speaking of what WinScore will say, only of what
the rules require. It is unambiguous that S's and F's "shall" be
announced on the radio. Maybe it can be a finish, but you take a
penalty for not announcing.
Finish announcements are, IMHO, purely for safety and operations.
Scoring is done by validating your landing card claim with the IGC
log.
I think they also prevent pilots from having multiple starts and
finishes in play simultaneously.
IF a pilot chooses to go around twice without landing after the first
(announced or stealthy) finish, then he is at risk of getting distance
points if he lands out or starts the engine on the second attempt.
Making a landing and officially observed takeoff, allows him to use
the first flight if the second attempt ends with a landout.
agreed, but do you think he has the option of claiming either one or
the combination of the two attempts if he goes around twice in one
flight?
Tom Serkowski
Suppose S(tart)=F(inish)=TP C. No designated turn MAT. You fly
S-A-B-(FSC)-A-B-(FSC)-A-B-(FSC)-A-B-F (i.e. 11 TPs - 4 times around a
triangle) then after landing claim the best scoring of any one of 10
combinations of consecutive laps:
1,1+2,1+2+3,1+2+3+4,2,2+3,2+3+4,3,3+4,or 4.
Will this work? Can you openly announce all 4 S's and all 4 F's on
the radio to avoid the penalties for not doing so, and choose which to
discard by leaving them off your landing card?
If not, why not, under your interpretation of the rules.
If so, why do so many pilots go undertime on no turn MAT's, when they
could easily bank insurance laps during the start gate roulette?
Jonathan Gere
Jonathan Gere