A aviation & planes forum. AviationBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » AviationBanter forum » rec.aviation newsgroups » Soaring
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

glider instructors in the US

Old September 12th 20, 09:48 PM posted to rec.aviation.soaring
Zoltán Lengyel
external usenet poster

Default glider instructors in the US

Hi All,

Anyone from the US here ?

I'm just wondering, how glider instructors are payed in the US (and if there are any considerable differences here and there) - I'm a glider instructor with an EASA license, and I'm thinking about making an FAA conversion in the future, and I'm curious to see whether it's worth the effort.

Cheers from Europe

Zoltan (a.k.a. "Rocker")
Old September 13th 20, 12:14 AM posted to rec.aviation.soaring
2KA
external usenet poster

It varies widely based on whether you are talking about commercial operations or clubs, and it also varies from club to club. In some clubs instruction is free (or included in the club membership) and instructors are expected to donate their time. In others, instructors are independent contractors employed by the students directly or by the club. In commercial operations instructors can either be independent contractors or employees of the operation.

Independent contractors employed directly by students might get something in the range of $40 to $60 per hour, but there is wide variation even in that. Employees of a commercial operation might get something like half of that.

Most instructors (but not all) are doing it as a sideline. Very few depend on instruction earnings as their primary source of income.