A aviation & planes forum. AviationBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » AviationBanter forum » rec.aviation newsgroups » Instrument Flight Rules
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

KJZI (Charleston Executive, S.C.) ILS RWY 9 DME Required



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old March 10th 10, 02:31 AM posted to rec.aviation.ifr
Padraig[_2_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 7
Default KJZI (Charleston Executive, S.C.) ILS RWY 9 DME Required

Hello,

I'm trying to figure out why the ILS or LOC Rwy 9 KJZI requires DME,
per the notes. Any ideas? I don't see where any of the fixes can't
be determined by dual VORs.

Thanks,
Padraig
Ads
  #2  
Old March 10th 10, 02:44 AM posted to rec.aviation.ifr
Padraig[_2_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 7
Default KJZI (Charleston Executive, S.C.) ILS RWY 9 DME Required

On Mar 9, 8:31*pm, Padraig wrote:
Hello,

I'm trying to figure out why the ILS or LOC Rwy 9 KJZI requires DME,
per the notes. *Any ideas? *I don't see where any of the fixes can't
be determined by dual VORs.

Thanks,
Padraig


Sorry, here's the procedure.

http://tiles.skyvector.com/sky/files...f/05354IL9.PDF
  #3  
Old March 10th 10, 02:54 AM posted to rec.aviation.ifr
[email protected]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 838
Default KJZI (Charleston Executive, S.C.) ILS RWY 9 DME Required

On Mar 9, 7:44*pm, Padraig wrote:
On Mar 9, 8:31*pm, Padraig wrote:

Hello,


I'm trying to figure out why the ILS or LOC Rwy 9 KJZI requires DME,
per the notes. *Any ideas? *I don't see where any of the fixes can't
be determined by dual VORs.


Thanks,
Padraig


Sorry, here's the procedure.

http://tiles.skyvector.com/sky/files...f/05354IL9.PDF


Appears to me that HUKAG (MAP) is not defined by a VOR radial causing
the need for DME from the outer marker to the middle marker.

That would be my guess.
  #4  
Old March 10th 10, 03:54 AM posted to rec.aviation.ifr
Padraig[_2_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 7
Default KJZI (Charleston Executive, S.C.) ILS RWY 9 DME Required

But that is also defined by time from FAF for the LOC, right? The
owner of the aircraft I tend to rent doesn't pay to keep his GPS
database up to date, so /U doesn't work too well in a lot of places.

On Mar 9, 8:54*pm, " wrote:


Appears to me that HUKAG (MAP) is not defined by a VOR radial causing
the need for DME from the outer marker to the middle marker.

That would be my guess.


  #5  
Old March 10th 10, 05:11 AM posted to rec.aviation.ifr
[email protected]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 838
Default KJZI (Charleston Executive, S.C.) ILS RWY 9 DME Required

On Mar 9, 8:54*pm, Padraig wrote:
But that is also defined by time from FAF for the LOC, right? *The
owner of the aircraft I tend to rent doesn't pay to keep his GPS
database up to date, so /U doesn't work too well in a lot of places.


I would think time would be part of it.

Good headwind down the ILS and your time now has changed since timing
is based on GS. Distance would be the constant that would confirm you
have reached the middle marker (along with the marker beacon) should
your actual time differ then what the chart projects on a no wind
situation.

ILS would be ground based, GPS would be informational only for DME
purposes. I would load the approach in the GPS and accept the warning
that it's for situational awareness as long as all the fixes matches
what I have on paper. This is how I would run my shop if I was to do
the approach.
  #6  
Old March 11th 10, 04:42 AM posted to rec.aviation.ifr
Padraig[_2_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 7
Default KJZI (Charleston Executive, S.C.) ILS RWY 9 DME Required

On Mar 9, 11:11*pm, " wrote:
On Mar 9, 8:54*pm, Padraig wrote:

But that is also defined by time from FAF for the LOC, right? *The
owner of the aircraft I tend to rent doesn't pay to keep his GPS
database up to date, so /U doesn't work too well in a lot of places.


I would think time would be part of it.

Good headwind down the ILS and your time now has changed since timing
is based on GS. *Distance would be the constant that would confirm you
have reached the middle marker (along with the marker beacon) should
your actual time differ then what the chart projects on a no wind
situation.

ILS would be ground based, GPS would be informational only for DME
purposes. *I would load the approach in the GPS and accept the warning
that it's for situational awareness as long as all the fixes matches
what I have on paper. *This is how I would run my shop if I was to do
the approach.


Yes, the problem is technically speaking I can't accept the approach
since it requires DME and I don't have it. If I had a legal GPS
database, I could fly it legally. But either way, if I'm flying the
ILS approach, the DH is the missed approach point. Once I hit that
altitude and I'm on the glide slope, I'm at the MAP. So I don't need
timing at all for the ILS, just if I were doing the localizer.

Thanks,
Padraig.
  #7  
Old March 11th 10, 02:03 PM posted to rec.aviation.ifr
[email protected]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 838
Default KJZI (Charleston Executive, S.C.) ILS RWY 9 DME Required

On Mar 10, 9:42*pm, Padraig wrote:

*But either way, if I'm flying the
ILS approach, the DH is the missed approach point. *Once I hit that
altitude and I'm on the glide slope, I'm at the MAP. *So I don't need
timing at all for the ILS, just if I were doing the localizer.


We may have answered our own question talking this out. DME required
for the LOC approach. Plate is for either ILS or LOC.

No glide slope for a LOC appraoch :-) to determine DH.
  #9  
Old March 12th 10, 12:35 AM posted to rec.aviation.ifr
Sam Spade
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 1,325
Default KJZI (Charleston Executive, S.C.) ILS RWY 9 DME Required


FDC 9/0694 - FI/T CHARLESTON EXECUTIVE, CHARLESTON, SC.
ILS OR LOC RWY 9, AMDT 1A...
RNAV (GPS) RWY 9, ORIG-A...
RNAV (GPS) RWY 27, ORIG...
PROCEDURE NA. WIE UNTIL UFN. CREATED: 18 SEP 17:55 2009

  #10  
Old March 12th 10, 02:22 AM posted to rec.aviation.ifr
[email protected]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 838
Default KJZI (Charleston Executive, S.C.) ILS RWY 9 DME Required

On Mar 11, 5:10*pm, Sam Spade wrote:

No glide slope for a LOC appraoch :-) to determine DH.


There is a timing table to determine the LOC MAP.


But of course you do know that the timing table is based on GS. What
if your GS was 68 knots Sam?

DME is your ONLY source to ensure that you are at MAP along WITH
timing. If you want to descend below MDA based on time alone AND no
DME, I sure wouldn't want to fly with you.
 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Direct Air Executive BAe 125-800B @ Edinburgh Drew Malcolm Aviation Photos 0 August 18th 09 11:14 AM
Neoconservatives have taken over the Executive Branch NOMOREWARFORISRAEL[_2_] Naval Aviation 0 October 8th 08 11:57 PM
Boeing DreamLifter at the Charleston Air Show 4-26-08 Jim Austin Aviation Photos 0 April 27th 08 07:48 PM
ELT Required for all SSA sanctioned contests starting 2006 ELT Required for all SSA sanctione Steve Leonard Soaring 2 September 14th 05 03:49 AM
flying clubs in Charleston, SC Guillermo Piloting 1 June 22nd 05 02:50 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2018 AviationBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.