A aviation & planes forum. AviationBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » AviationBanter forum » rec.aviation newsgroups » Piloting
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

296 keeps shutting off



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old January 19th 05, 12:31 AM
Robert M. Gary
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default 296 keeps shutting off

Today, I was IFR over the fog near LIN VOR and thought I'd use the 296
to give me the AWOS freq at Jackson airport. So I moved my pointer over
to Jackson and hit enter and the 296 shut off! So I hit the power
button and acknowledged the first screen as usual, move the pointer
over to Jackson, selected enter and it did it again! So I again powered
it up (hit the power button, looked at the Cessna picture, hit enter to
ack. its a VFR unit). This time, I simply hit "page" to give me a good
map view and it shut off again!!
So I powered it up again and it seemed to work fine. Just to test the
battery, I unpluged the unit power from the cig lighter and it popped
up the normal 30 second window, "do you want to run on battery". So,
the battery seems fine, and the unit didn't act like it lost power.

Has anyone else seen this? Is there some sort of firmware upgrade I may
need?

-Robert

Ads
  #2  
Old January 19th 05, 01:23 AM
Steve Foley
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I think this is caused by the second to most recent firmware upgrade.

V 3.0 had problems that were fixed in 3.1


"Robert M. Gary" wrote in message
oups.com...
Today, I was IFR over the fog near LIN VOR and thought I'd use the 296
to give me the AWOS freq at Jackson airport. So I moved my pointer over
to Jackson and hit enter and the 296 shut off! So I hit the power
button and acknowledged the first screen as usual, move the pointer
over to Jackson, selected enter and it did it again! So I again powered
it up (hit the power button, looked at the Cessna picture, hit enter to
ack. its a VFR unit). This time, I simply hit "page" to give me a good
map view and it shut off again!!
So I powered it up again and it seemed to work fine. Just to test the
battery, I unpluged the unit power from the cig lighter and it popped
up the normal 30 second window, "do you want to run on battery". So,
the battery seems fine, and the unit didn't act like it lost power.

Has anyone else seen this? Is there some sort of firmware upgrade I may
need?

-Robert



  #3  
Old January 19th 05, 03:19 AM
Larry Dighera
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

On 18 Jan 2005 16:31:18 -0800, "Robert M. Gary"
wrote in .com::

... thought I'd use the 296
to give me the AWOS freq at Jackson airport. So I moved my pointer over
to Jackson and hit enter and the 296 shut off! ... and it shut off again!!
So I powered it up again and it seemed to work fine. Just to test the
battery, I unpluged the unit power from the cig lighter and it popped
up the normal 30 second window, "do you want to run on battery". So,
the battery seems fine, and the unit didn't act like it lost power.

Has anyone else seen this?


I have experienced occasional uncommanded power down with the Garmin
195. This seems to be exacerbated by vibration and the length of time
the batteries have been installed in the GPS.

I diagnosed the cause to be poor connection among the 6 batteries.
Cleaning the connections (by rubbing the ends of the batteries against
cotton cloth) often improved power stability, but didn't eliminate the
problem. The installation of a 0.05 Mfd. Tantalum capacitor across
the GPS power terminals has now caused this nuisance to be a non
issue.

It worked for me. YMMV.




  #4  
Old January 19th 05, 08:44 PM
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default


Steve Foley wrote:
I think this is caused by the second to most recent firmware upgrade.

V 3.0 had problems that were fixed in 3.1



Yep, that's likely what the problem is. V3.0 was released in Nov or
Dec of last year and I know of several people who had that exact
problem after installing it (power off when moving cursor). V3.1 was
released 12 days ago and is supposed to fix the problem. I haven't
yet heard from anyone who has upgraded to V3.1, so I guess you'll have
to take Garmin's word for it.

John Galban=====N4BQ (PA28-180)

  #5  
Old January 19th 05, 10:34 PM
aluckyguess
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I upgraded my 296 seems to work fine. I never had a problem anyhow. I did
lose all saved information in the unit. Its makes it like new.
"Larry Dighera" wrote in message
...
On 18 Jan 2005 16:31:18 -0800, "Robert M. Gary"
wrote in .com::

... thought I'd use the 296
to give me the AWOS freq at Jackson airport. So I moved my pointer over
to Jackson and hit enter and the 296 shut off! ... and it shut off again!!
So I powered it up again and it seemed to work fine. Just to test the
battery, I unpluged the unit power from the cig lighter and it popped
up the normal 30 second window, "do you want to run on battery". So,
the battery seems fine, and the unit didn't act like it lost power.

Has anyone else seen this?


I have experienced occasional uncommanded power down with the Garmin
195. This seems to be exacerbated by vibration and the length of time
the batteries have been installed in the GPS.

I diagnosed the cause to be poor connection among the 6 batteries.
Cleaning the connections (by rubbing the ends of the batteries against
cotton cloth) often improved power stability, but didn't eliminate the
problem. The installation of a 0.05 Mfd. Tantalum capacitor across
the GPS power terminals has now caused this nuisance to be a non
issue.

It worked for me. YMMV.






  #6  
Old January 20th 05, 04:11 AM
Cockpit Colin
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I upgraded my 296 seems to work fine. I never had a problem anyhow. I did
lose all saved information in the unit. Its makes it like new.


I was going to mention this - you beat me to it.

The last 2 updates have reset all of my customised fields etc - so might pay
to take a note of them before upgrading.



 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Shutting down alternators before engine shutdown Ali Ghorashi Piloting 4 October 29th 04 11:48 PM
Palm.net is Shutting Down Judah Instrument Flight Rules 1 August 5th 04 07:25 PM
Palm.net is Shutting Down Judah Piloting 1 August 5th 04 07:25 PM
Shutting down engine Question Lisa Piloting 26 April 5th 04 12:53 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2022 AviationBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.