A aviation & planes forum. AviationBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » AviationBanter forum » rec.aviation newsgroups » Soaring
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

PDA's in flight



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old June 13th 09, 03:30 PM posted to rec.aviation.soaring
Brad[_2_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 722
Default PDA's in flight

Anyone else running XC flight software on a PDA find them to be
sluggish and almost unuseable during a flight? I am using an iPAQ 3850
running XC-Soar, the unit is hooked to a Garmin Map60CS. Sure
everything works, but while in the air, if I push a button or touch
the screen somtimes it takes several seconds for the function to work.
This often leads to stacked commands that eventually cycle thru, but
inevitably end up not on the command I wanted/needed.

Case in point: Mountain XC flight the other
day.....................middle of the Cascades and I am wanting to
look up my alternate airports/LZ's.............it is almost impossible
to get the PDA/software to do this. Instead I just used the GPS, which
has the same data the PDA has.

Is there some setting on the PDA to speed things up? I know there is a
setting to allocate more memory to the programs....could that be
tweaked?

Thanks,
Brad
Ads
  #2  
Old June 13th 09, 04:34 PM posted to rec.aviation.soaring
Darryl Ramm
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 2,396
Default PDA's in flight

On Jun 13, 7:30*am, Brad wrote:
Anyone else running XC flight software on a PDA find them to be
sluggish and almost unuseable during a flight? I am using an iPAQ 3850
running XC-Soar, the unit is hooked to a Garmin Map60CS. Sure
everything works, but while in the air, if I push a button or touch
the screen somtimes it takes several seconds for the function to work.
This often leads to stacked commands that eventually cycle thru, but
inevitably end up not on the command I wanted/needed.

Case in point: Mountain XC flight the other
day.....................middle of the Cascades and I am wanting to
look up my alternate airports/LZ's.............it is almost impossible
to get the PDA/software to do this. Instead I just used the GPS, which
has the same data the PDA has.

Is there some setting on the PDA to speed things up? I know there is a
setting to allocate more memory to the programs....could that be
tweaked?

Thanks,
Brad


If this is happening in flight when it is cooler it may not be the
issue but you can see this with some PDAs when they get hot and the
touch screen stops being reliable. I solved this with iPAQ 4700 by
using a platinum canopy cap to kepe them cooler before launch.

Sometimes people have stuff running on the PDA without realizing it
and some software has memory leaks etc. One thing you can do is to do
a soft reset (press the reset button the stylus) before your flight,
that seems to also reduce Windows Mobile OS crash/hang related issues.
Being Windows say a prayer each time you do this. I find overall this
is a good idea as it helps improve stability in flight.

Some older PDAs (including yours) may run applications slower from the
SD card than from the internal memory, but the SD card will have the
benefit of not losing memory if the battery goes flat (also not an
issue with the latest Windows Mobile devices running 5,0 or later).

There are memory settings in Windows Mobile in the Settings menu, you
can play with that but it probably won't make much difference.

Darryl

  #3  
Old June 13th 09, 04:48 PM posted to rec.aviation.soaring
Mike[_8_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 199
Default PDA's in flight

Brad,

I am using an iPAQ 3970 with PPC2003.

I found 5.2.2 to be a bit buggy and went back to 5.1.8, although I do
not recall the problem you mentioned.

Are you using PPC2002 in your iPAQ? If so, switching to PPC2003 may
solve your problem. Not sure where you can find the update now though.

Mike



On Jun 13, 8:30*am, Brad wrote:
Anyone else running XC flight software on a PDA find them to be
sluggish and almost unuseable during a flight? I am using an iPAQ 3850
running XC-Soar, the unit is hooked to a Garmin Map60CS. Sure
everything works, but while in the air, if I push a button or touch
the screen somtimes it takes several seconds for the function to work.
This often leads to stacked commands that eventually cycle thru, but
inevitably end up not on the command I wanted/needed.

Case in point: Mountain XC flight the other
day.....................middle of the Cascades and I am wanting to
look up my alternate airports/LZ's.............it is almost impossible
to get the PDA/software to do this. Instead I just used the GPS, which
has the same data the PDA has.

Is there some setting on the PDA to speed things up? I know there is a
setting to allocate more memory to the programs....could that be
tweaked?

Thanks,
Brad


  #4  
Old June 13th 09, 05:24 PM posted to rec.aviation.soaring
Brad[_2_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 722
Default PDA's in flight

On Jun 13, 8:48*am, Mike wrote:
Brad,

I am using an iPAQ 3970 with PPC2003.

I found 5.2.2 to be a bit buggy and went back to 5.1.8, although I do
not recall the problem you mentioned.

Are you using PPC2002 in your iPAQ? If so, switching to PPC2003 may
solve your problem. Not sure where you can find the update now though.

Mike

On Jun 13, 8:30*am, Brad wrote:



Anyone else running XC flight software on a PDA find them to be
sluggish and almost unuseable during a flight? I am using an iPAQ 3850
running XC-Soar, the unit is hooked to a Garmin Map60CS. Sure
everything works, but while in the air, if I push a button or touch
the screen somtimes it takes several seconds for the function to work.
This often leads to stacked commands that eventually cycle thru, but
inevitably end up not on the command I wanted/needed.


Case in point: Mountain XC flight the other
day.....................middle of the Cascades and I am wanting to
look up my alternate airports/LZ's.............it is almost impossible
to get the PDA/software to do this. Instead I just used the GPS, which
has the same data the PDA has.


Is there some setting on the PDA to speed things up? I know there is a
setting to allocate more memory to the programs....could that be
tweaked?


Thanks,
Brad


I am using PPC2002, the PPC 2003 does not show up as an executable
when I load it onto my iPAQ. I've tried a few times but I get an error
message that says it is not a windows program.

I still have 5.1.8 loaded and copied and pasted the prf file I created
for 5.2.3b5 into the folder for 5.1.8, so far on the bench it looks
like it's working ok. I'll see if I can take a flight today and check
it out.

Thanks guys,
Brad
  #5  
Old June 13th 09, 06:22 PM posted to rec.aviation.soaring
Darryl Ramm
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 2,396
Default PDA's in flight

On Jun 13, 9:24*am, Brad wrote:
On Jun 13, 8:48*am, Mike wrote:



Brad,


I am using an iPAQ 3970 with PPC2003.


I found 5.2.2 to be a bit buggy and went back to 5.1.8, although I do
not recall the problem you mentioned.


Are you using PPC2002 in your iPAQ? If so, switching to PPC2003 may
solve your problem. Not sure where you can find the update now though.


Mike


On Jun 13, 8:30*am, Brad wrote:


Anyone else running XC flight software on a PDA find them to be
sluggish and almost unuseable during a flight? I am using an iPAQ 3850
running XC-Soar, the unit is hooked to a Garmin Map60CS. Sure
everything works, but while in the air, if I push a button or touch
the screen somtimes it takes several seconds for the function to work..
This often leads to stacked commands that eventually cycle thru, but
inevitably end up not on the command I wanted/needed.


Case in point: Mountain XC flight the other
day.....................middle of the Cascades and I am wanting to
look up my alternate airports/LZ's.............it is almost impossible
to get the PDA/software to do this. Instead I just used the GPS, which
has the same data the PDA has.


Is there some setting on the PDA to speed things up? I know there is a
setting to allocate more memory to the programs....could that be
tweaked?


Thanks,
Brad


I am using PPC2002, the PPC 2003 does not show up as an executable
when I load it onto my iPAQ. I've tried a few times but I get an error
message that says it is not a windows program.

I still have 5.1.8 loaded and copied and pasted the prf file I created
for 5.2.3b5 into the folder for 5.1.8, so far on the bench it looks
like it's working ok. I'll see if I can take a flight today and check
it out.

Thanks guys,
Brad


Brad

Mike meant install the Windows Mobile 2003 operating system on your
PDA not a program binary for Windows 2003.
You have to follow exactly the upgrade procedures that should be with
the copy of Windows Mobile 2003.
You will have to Google to find the update software. But I'm not
convinced this is worth the effort/risk.

Darryl


Darryl
  #6  
Old June 13th 09, 06:30 PM posted to rec.aviation.soaring
Brad[_2_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 722
Default PDA's in flight

On Jun 13, 10:22*am, Darryl Ramm wrote:
On Jun 13, 9:24*am, Brad wrote:





On Jun 13, 8:48*am, Mike wrote:


Brad,


I am using an iPAQ 3970 with PPC2003.


I found 5.2.2 to be a bit buggy and went back to 5.1.8, although I do
not recall the problem you mentioned.


Are you using PPC2002 in your iPAQ? If so, switching to PPC2003 may
solve your problem. Not sure where you can find the update now though..


Mike


On Jun 13, 8:30*am, Brad wrote:


Anyone else running XC flight software on a PDA find them to be
sluggish and almost unuseable during a flight? I am using an iPAQ 3850
running XC-Soar, the unit is hooked to a Garmin Map60CS. Sure
everything works, but while in the air, if I push a button or touch
the screen somtimes it takes several seconds for the function to work.
This often leads to stacked commands that eventually cycle thru, but
inevitably end up not on the command I wanted/needed.


Case in point: Mountain XC flight the other
day.....................middle of the Cascades and I am wanting to
look up my alternate airports/LZ's.............it is almost impossible
to get the PDA/software to do this. Instead I just used the GPS, which
has the same data the PDA has.


Is there some setting on the PDA to speed things up? I know there is a
setting to allocate more memory to the programs....could that be
tweaked?


Thanks,
Brad


I am using PPC2002, the PPC 2003 does not show up as an executable
when I load it onto my iPAQ. I've tried a few times but I get an error
message that says it is not a windows program.


I still have 5.1.8 loaded and copied and pasted the prf file I created
for 5.2.3b5 into the folder for 5.1.8, so far on the bench it looks
like it's working ok. I'll see if I can take a flight today and check
it out.


Thanks guys,
Brad


Brad

Mike meant install the Windows Mobile 2003 operating system on your
PDA not a program binary for Windows 2003.
You have to follow exactly the upgrade procedures that should be with
the copy of Windows Mobile 2003.
You will have to Google to find the update software. But I'm not
convinced this is worth the effort/risk.

Darryl

Darryl


Darryl,

Ah, ok.............no, I don't know enough about this stuff to attempt
to mess with an upgrade. What I am going to do is try flying with the
older version of XC soar and see how that works. Overall, I am really
happy with the program, but do wish it would work flawlessly.........a
guy can wish right.

BTW...I am on the XS soar e-mail list, but apparently it was hacked
last week and some of the members e-mails were being used as spammers.

Brad
  #7  
Old June 13th 09, 11:36 PM posted to rec.aviation.soaring
John Scott[_2_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 22
Default PDA's in flight

I had a PDA mounted on the dash of my car that exhibited extreme slowness.
I finally discovered it was due to the IR port trying to communicate with
the sun. I tried to turn it off in the software, but ultimately covered
over the port on the top of the PDA with a small piece of black electrical
tape. Problem solved. I initially discovered this was the problem when I
threw my hat over the unit in disgust and discovered that the perforance
immediatly recovered.

You can usually see the port flashig if you point it at a webcam and look at
the resulting video on your computer screen. The webcam sensors are usually
sensitive to IR.

John


  #8  
Old June 14th 09, 01:55 AM posted to rec.aviation.soaring
Paul Remde
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 1,688
Default PDA's in flight

Hi,

The IR port may very well be the problem. The PDA may think that the sun is
another PDA trying to talk to it through the IR port. I show how to disable
the IR port in training video #6 of my Pocket PC training. You can see it
he
http://www.cumulus-soaring.com/train...TrainingCD-PPC

Best Regards,

Paul Remde
Cumulus Soaring, Inc.

"John Scott" wrote in message
.. .
I had a PDA mounted on the dash of my car that exhibited extreme slowness.
I finally discovered it was due to the IR port trying to communicate with
the sun. I tried to turn it off in the software, but ultimately covered
over the port on the top of the PDA with a small piece of black electrical
tape. Problem solved. I initially discovered this was the problem when I
threw my hat over the unit in disgust and discovered that the perforance
immediatly recovered.

You can usually see the port flashig if you point it at a webcam and look
at the resulting video on your computer screen. The webcam sensors are
usually sensitive to IR.

John



  #9  
Old June 14th 09, 03:17 AM posted to rec.aviation.soaring
Brad[_2_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 722
Default PDA's in flight

On Jun 13, 5:55*pm, "Paul Remde" wrote:
Hi,

The IR port may very well be the problem. *The PDA may think that the sun is
another PDA trying to talk to it through the IR port. *I show how to disable
the IR port in training video #6 of my Pocket PC training. *You can see it
hehttp://www.cumulus-soaring.com/train...TrainingCD-PPC

Best Regards,

Paul Remde
Cumulus Soaring, Inc.

"John Scott" wrote in message

.. .



I had a PDA mounted on the dash of my car that exhibited extreme slowness.
I finally discovered it was due to the IR port trying to communicate with
the sun. *I tried to turn it off in the software, but ultimately covered
over the port on the top of the PDA with a small piece of *black electrical
tape. Problem solved. I initially discovered this was the problem when I
threw my hat over the unit in disgust and discovered that the perforance
immediatly recovered.


You can usually see the port flashig if you point it at a webcam and look
at the resulting video on your computer screen. The webcam sensors are
usually sensitive to IR.


John


Hi Paul,

thanks for the video tip, I've turned off the beam function and will
let you all know what I discover next time I fly.

Cheers,
Brad
  #10  
Old June 14th 09, 05:39 AM posted to rec.aviation.soaring
Brian[_1_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 397
Default PDA's in flight

On Jun 13, 9:48*am, Mike wrote:
Brad,

I am using an iPAQ 3970 with PPC2003.

I found 5.2.2 to be a bit buggy and went back to 5.1.8, although I do
not recall the problem you mentioned.

Are you using PPC2002 in your iPAQ? If so, switching to PPC2003 may
solve your problem. Not sure where you can find the update now though.

Mike

On Jun 13, 8:30*am, Brad wrote:

Anyone else running XC flight software on a PDA find them to be
sluggish and almost unuseable during a flight? I am using an iPAQ 3850
running XC-Soar, the unit is hooked to a Garmin Map60CS. Sure
everything works, but while in the air, if I push a button or touch
the screen somtimes it takes several seconds for the function to work.
This often leads to stacked commands that eventually cycle thru, but
inevitably end up not on the command I wanted/needed.


Case in point: Mountain XC flight the other
day.....................middle of the Cascades and I am wanting to
look up my alternate airports/LZ's.............it is almost impossible
to get the PDA/software to do this. Instead I just used the GPS, which
has the same data the PDA has.


Is there some setting on the PDA to speed things up? I know there is a
setting to allocate more memory to the programs....could that be
tweaked?


Thanks,
Brad


After have 5.2.2 just shut down, but still locks the Serial port
requiring me to do a hard reset on the PDA. I went back to 5.1.8 as
well.

Brian
HP16T N16VP
 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PDA's Interface Ray Lovinggood Soaring 11 August 31st 05 03:20 PM
FS-PDA's Ed Hollestelle Soaring 0 September 21st 04 05:26 PM
FS PDA's Ed Hollestelle Soaring 0 July 21st 04 03:31 PM
PDA's Tony Owning 15 February 6th 04 10:20 PM
Overstocked on PDA's Ed Hollestelle Soaring 16 December 4th 03 01:40 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2021 AviationBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.