A aviation & planes forum. AviationBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » AviationBanter forum » rec.aviation newsgroups » Soaring
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

TE probes?



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old July 11th 19, 03:54 AM posted to rec.aviation.soaring
soaringjac
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 41
Default TE probes?

Might be a dumb question, but can you just purchase any old TE prob and throw it in your glider or does it have to be calibrated to your specific glider?
Ads
  #2  
Old July 11th 19, 05:09 AM posted to rec.aviation.soaring
Tango Whisky
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 314
Default TE probes?

No calibration required, TE probes work for any glider.
  #3  
Old July 11th 19, 06:01 AM posted to rec.aviation.soaring
soaringjac
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 41
Default TE probes?

On Wednesday, July 10, 2019 at 9:09:55 PM UTC-7, Tango Whisky wrote:
No calibration required, TE probes work for any glider.


Thanks!
  #4  
Old July 11th 19, 07:22 AM posted to rec.aviation.soaring
Steve Thompson[_2_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 16
Default TE probes?

Worth a read of
https://www.esa-systems.com/en/products/#total-energy-
probes


At 05:01 11 July 2019, soaringjac wrote:
On Wednesday, July 10, 2019 at 9:09:55 PM UTC-7, Tango

Whisky wrote:
No calibration required, TE probes work for any glider.


Thanks!


  #5  
Old July 11th 19, 03:03 PM posted to rec.aviation.soaring
Gianni Isotope
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 19
Default TE probes?

Of course, any old TE probe will not necessarily fit your specific glider -- pay attention to the inlet port diameter sizing of aftermarket probes.
  #6  
Old July 11th 19, 03:21 PM posted to rec.aviation.soaring
Richard Pfiffner[_2_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 188
Default TE probes?

On Wednesday, July 10, 2019 at 7:55:01 PM UTC-7, soaringjac wrote:
Might be a dumb question, but can you just purchase any old TE prob and throw it in your glider or does it have to be calibrated to your specific glider?



TE probes can be used with any glider. Make sure the Port on the fin is the same as your current probe, diameter and inputs.

http://www.craggyaero.com/esa-systems.htm

Richard
www.craggyaero.com
  #7  
Old July 11th 19, 06:42 PM posted to rec.aviation.soaring
john firth
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 66
Default TE probes?

On Wednesday, July 10, 2019 at 10:55:01 PM UTC-4, soaringjac wrote:
Might be a dumb question, but can you just purchase any old TE prob and throw it in your glider or does it have to be calibrated to your specific glider?


yes, a T.E probe will work with any glider, but the tail can have significant effect on the accuracy of the compensation.
A large, thick section tail (eg Kestrel 19) will reduce the Cp
of the probe, so it under compensates.
The further ahead of the tail the tip is, the less is the influence of
the pressure field of the tail.
JMF
  #8  
Old July 12th 19, 03:43 AM posted to rec.aviation.soaring
soaringjac
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 41
Default TE probes?

On Thursday, July 11, 2019 at 10:42:06 AM UTC-7, john firth wrote:
On Wednesday, July 10, 2019 at 10:55:01 PM UTC-4, soaringjac wrote:
Might be a dumb question, but can you just purchase any old TE prob and throw it in your glider or does it have to be calibrated to your specific glider?


yes, a T.E probe will work with any glider, but the tail can have significant effect on the accuracy of the compensation.
A large, thick section tail (eg Kestrel 19) will reduce the Cp
of the probe, so it under compensates.
The further ahead of the tail the tip is, the less is the influence of
the pressure field of the tail.
JMF


Thanks John!
  #9  
Old July 12th 19, 03:43 AM posted to rec.aviation.soaring
soaringjac
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 41
Default TE probes?

On Thursday, July 11, 2019 at 7:21:43 AM UTC-7, Richard Pfiffner wrote:
On Wednesday, July 10, 2019 at 7:55:01 PM UTC-7, soaringjac wrote:
Might be a dumb question, but can you just purchase any old TE prob and throw it in your glider or does it have to be calibrated to your specific glider?



TE probes can be used with any glider. Make sure the Port on the fin is the same as your current probe, diameter and inputs.

http://www.craggyaero.com/esa-systems.htm

Richard
www.craggyaero.com


Thanks Richard!
 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
TE probes 4Z Soaring 3 June 18th 13 05:49 PM
WTB CHT probes [email protected] Home Built 6 August 11th 04 06:46 PM
WTB CHT probes [email protected] Aviation Marketplace 6 August 11th 04 06:46 PM
WTB CHT probes [email protected] Owning 6 August 11th 04 06:46 PM
Why use TE probes at all? Robert Soaring 1 May 8th 04 12:27 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2019 AviationBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.