A aviation & planes forum. AviationBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » AviationBanter forum » rec.aviation newsgroups » Simulators
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

best PC for FS2004



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old February 5th 04, 04:31 AM
McCrack
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

On 05 Feb 2004 23:18:53 GMT, (Tlewis95) wrote:

Hi
I am buying a new computer
I have a 0.5 GhZ Pentium III Gateway and get a crappy 10-20 FPS with medium
settings.
I am looking for the quickest FS2004 runing machine
I am thinking about he Dell Dimension XPS
I would want at least 30 FPS with highish scenery/AI/weather
Is this possible?

Thanks!!
Trace Lewis age 13


Try Alienware or Falcon Northwest. Dell is pretty good, but not
upgradable much because they use proprietary power supply connectors
to the motherboard. I hear Dell has really gone down hill in the tech
support department too. Gateway might be the better choice. Gamers
either build their own or buy from places like Falcon Northwest
http://www.falcon-nw.com/ or Alienware http://www.alienware.com/
Buy the fastest you can afford and enjoy.
Ads
  #2  
Old February 5th 04, 11:18 PM
Tlewis95
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default best PC for FS2004

Hi
I am buying a new computer
I have a 0.5 GhZ Pentium III Gateway and get a crappy 10-20 FPS with medium
settings.
I am looking for the quickest FS2004 runing machine
I am thinking about he Dell Dimension XPS
I would want at least 30 FPS with highish scenery/AI/weather
Is this possible?

Thanks!!
Trace Lewis age 13

  #3  
Old February 6th 04, 01:52 AM
Peter Duniho
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

"Tlewis95" wrote in message
...
I would want at least 30 FPS with highish scenery/AI/weather
Is this possible?


Yes. Any high-end gaming PC would do just fine. Get lots of RAM (1GB), a
fast CPU ( 2.5Ghz Intel or equivalent AMD (since AMD's clock speeds aren't
comparable to Intel's)), and a good video card (GeForceFX or ATI Radeon
9800).

Pete


  #4  
Old February 6th 04, 01:25 PM
Bill
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default


"Tlewis95" wrote in message
...
Hi
I am buying a new computer
I have a 0.5 GhZ Pentium III Gateway and get a crappy 10-20 FPS with

medium
settings.
I am looking for the quickest FS2004 runing machine
I am thinking about he Dell Dimension XPS
I would want at least 30 FPS with highish scenery/AI/weather
Is this possible?

Thanks!!
Trace Lewis age 13



The Dell XPS has the right specs but as said the tech support is
questionable. My friend has one and called tech yesterday, spoke to someone
in India and got nowhere. I am going over to see if I can help out. Nothing
against India but there is a communication problem for sure, not to mention
loss of American jobs.

My advise is get the most power money can buy. FS2004 is one CPU hungry
piece of software.

Bill


  #5  
Old February 6th 04, 07:48 PM
Tom Gibson
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Hi,

I agree - if you are going to need tech support don't expect it from
India...

That said, my new Dell XPS 3.0HT is working great. I have to look for
situations where it drops below 30 fps.

An example:

Location: KJFK in NYC (default detailed airport)
Scenery: Extremely Dense (max)
AI Traffic: 100% (I have about 4x default traffic there)
Most other sliders except mesh and a couple others maxed.
Radeon 9800 Pro, maxed AA etc.
1024x768

Result: 23-30 fps (maxed at 30). Had to go hunting to find the 23 fps,
too.

Hope this helps,

Tlewis95 wrote:
Hi
I am buying a new computer
I have a 0.5 GhZ Pentium III Gateway and get a crappy 10-20 FPS with medium
settings.
I am looking for the quickest FS2004 runing machine
I am thinking about he Dell Dimension XPS
I would want at least 30 FPS with highish scenery/AI/weather
Is this possible?

Thanks!!
Trace Lewis age 13



--
Tom Gibson

California Classic Propliners: http://www.calclassic.com/

Cal Classic Alco Page: http://www.calclassic.com/alco/

Freeflight Design Shop: http://www.freeflightdesign.com/

San Diego Model RR Museum: http://www.sdmodelrailroadm.com/

Drop by! ___x_x_(")_x_x___

  #6  
Old February 6th 04, 09:11 PM
Bill
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Show off :-)

Jealous me!


"Tom Gibson" wrote in message
...
Hi,

I agree - if you are going to need tech support don't expect it from
India...

That said, my new Dell XPS 3.0HT is working great. I have to look for
situations where it drops below 30 fps.

An example:

Location: KJFK in NYC (default detailed airport)
Scenery: Extremely Dense (max)
AI Traffic: 100% (I have about 4x default traffic there)
Most other sliders except mesh and a couple others maxed.
Radeon 9800 Pro, maxed AA etc.
1024x768

Result: 23-30 fps (maxed at 30). Had to go hunting to find the 23 fps,
too.

Hope this helps,

Tlewis95 wrote:
Hi
I am buying a new computer
I have a 0.5 GhZ Pentium III Gateway and get a crappy 10-20 FPS with

medium
settings.
I am looking for the quickest FS2004 runing machine
I am thinking about he Dell Dimension XPS
I would want at least 30 FPS with highish scenery/AI/weather
Is this possible?

Thanks!!
Trace Lewis age 13



--
Tom Gibson

California Classic Propliners: http://www.calclassic.com/

Cal Classic Alco Page: http://www.calclassic.com/alco/

Freeflight Design Shop: http://www.freeflightdesign.com/

San Diego Model RR Museum: http://www.sdmodelrailroadm.com/

Drop by! ___x_x_(")_x_x___



  #7  
Old February 7th 04, 04:00 AM
Tlewis95
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

What kind of airplane are you flying when you get the 23-30 FPS and what is the
3d cloud setting on?
  #8  
Old February 7th 04, 09:46 PM
Tlewis95
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Yes that does help tom!
I will get one of those but I need to save up!
I am going to time it so I have 2,500 bucks and the 4Ghz HT processer is out
for the price of a 3.2 Ghz macine now.
Thanks a lot!
P.S, What kind of plane were you flying over New York Tom? When I fly the 747
with scenery minal, no AI or 3D clouds, I get 1.5-3 FPS (not flyable). Also
what was the weather like then and what the weather/ 3D clouds setting on? And
what video card you had and the terrain mesh at the time? Thanks

Trace Lewis

age 13
  #9  
Old February 9th 04, 10:58 PM
Tom Gibson
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Hi,

I was flying my Convair 340 panel, which is a complex panel (typically
reduces frame rates by 3-5 fps vs the default panels). The 3D clouds
were set at 100%, but it was a fair day with scattered clouds. I
haven't seen that bad weather costs many frames with this machine, though.

Hope this helps,

Tlewis95 wrote:
What kind of airplane are you flying when you get the 23-30 FPS and what is the
3d cloud setting on?



--
Tom Gibson

California Classic Propliners: http://www.calclassic.com/

Cal Classic Alco Page: http://www.calclassic.com/alco/

Freeflight Design Shop: http://www.freeflightdesign.com/

San Diego Model RR Museum: http://www.sdmodelrailroadm.com/

Drop by! ___x_x_(")_x_x___

  #10  
Old February 11th 04, 03:31 AM
Tlewis95
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Yep!
that helps.
I am ordering mine this week!
 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2019 AviationBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.