A aviation & planes forum. AviationBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » AviationBanter forum » rec.aviation newsgroups » Instrument Flight Rules
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

Garmin 430 rquestion- does the approach always have to be activated via "activate approach"?



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old February 16th 08, 05:41 AM posted to rec.aviation.ifr
Terence Wilson
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 28
Default Garmin 430 rquestion- does the approach always have to be activated via "activate approach"?

One annoyance of the 430 is that activating an approach will
immediately set a course for the selected IAF (assuming RV not
selected). What I would like to do is append the approach to my
current flightplan so that I can transition en route to the approach
without further programming. But I'm concerned that a loaded,
unactivated approach will cause the 430 not to switch to approach
senstivity. I tried this in the simulator and found that it seems to
work fine, the sensitivity changes 2nm from the FAF and all is well;
but I'm hesistant to start using the method in the A/C.
Can someone else verify that it is ok? What method do you use?
Ads
  #2  
Old February 16th 08, 06:04 AM posted to rec.aviation.ifr
Stan Prevost
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 118
Default Garmin 430 rquestion- does the approach always have to be activated via "activate approach"?

So you are f lying along, direct KABC. You have loaded an approach and
selected an IAF. How do you expect the box to know when to switch from
having the TO Waypoint being the airport to having it be the IAF?

Activating a loaded approach is really a trivial action. PROC, ENTER. Not
exactly programming.






"Terence Wilson" wrote in message
...
One annoyance of the 430 is that activating an approach will
immediately set a course for the selected IAF (assuming RV not
selected). What I would like to do is append the approach to my
current flightplan so that I can transition en route to the approach
without further programming. But I'm concerned that a loaded,
unactivated approach will cause the 430 not to switch to approach
senstivity. I tried this in the simulator and found that it seems to
work fine, the sensitivity changes 2nm from the FAF and all is well;
but I'm hesistant to start using the method in the A/C.
Can someone else verify that it is ok? What method do you use?



  #3  
Old February 16th 08, 03:38 PM posted to rec.aviation.ifr
Sam Spade
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 1,325
Default Garmin 430 rquestion- does the approach always have to be activatedvia "activate approach"?

Terence Wilson wrote:
One annoyance of the 430 is that activating an approach will
immediately set a course for the selected IAF (assuming RV not
selected). What I would like to do is append the approach to my
current flightplan so that I can transition en route to the approach
without further programming. But I'm concerned that a loaded,
unactivated approach will cause the 430 not to switch to approach
senstivity. I tried this in the simulator and found that it seems to
work fine, the sensitivity changes 2nm from the FAF and all is well;
but I'm hesistant to start using the method in the A/C.
Can someone else verify that it is ok? What method do you use?


You don't quite understand the activate approach function. It should
seldom be used. It's primary purpose is for a "pop up" VFR operation to
go from VFR directly to an IAF and begin a full approach.

The normal procedure is to load the approach. It will always activate
on its own two miles prior to the FAF.
  #4  
Old February 16th 08, 05:27 PM posted to rec.aviation.ifr
SimGuy
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 12
Default Garmin 430 rquestion- does the approach always have to be activated via "activate approach"?

On Fri, 15 Feb 2008 23:04:53 -0600, "Stan Prevost"
wrote:

So you are f lying along, direct KABC. You have loaded an approach and
selected an IAF. How do you expect the box to know when to switch from
having the TO Waypoint being the airport to having it be the IAF?

Activating a loaded approach is really a trivial action. PROC, ENTER. Not
exactly programming.


The point is this- loading the approach makes the IAF the active
waypoint, which I may or may not want.
  #5  
Old February 16th 08, 05:29 PM posted to rec.aviation.ifr
Terence Wilson
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 28
Default Garmin 430 rquestion- does the approach always have to be activated via "activate approach"?

On Sat, 16 Feb 2008 06:38:42 -0800, Sam Spade
wrote:

Terence Wilson wrote:
One annoyance of the 430 is that activating an approach will
immediately set a course for the selected IAF (assuming RV not
selected). What I would like to do is append the approach to my
current flightplan so that I can transition en route to the approach
without further programming. But I'm concerned that a loaded,
unactivated approach will cause the 430 not to switch to approach
senstivity. I tried this in the simulator and found that it seems to
work fine, the sensitivity changes 2nm from the FAF and all is well;
but I'm hesistant to start using the method in the A/C.
Can someone else verify that it is ok? What method do you use?


You don't quite understand the activate approach function. It should
seldom be used. It's primary purpose is for a "pop up" VFR operation to
go from VFR directly to an IAF and begin a full approach.

The normal procedure is to load the approach. It will always activate
on its own two miles prior to the FAF.


OK thanks. That was the source of my confusion. I wasn't sure whether
there was something magic about activation. It sounds like the only
purpose of activation is to set the IAF as the active waypoint.
Thanks.
  #6  
Old February 16th 08, 05:47 PM posted to rec.aviation.ifr
Mitty
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 72
Default Garmin 430 rquestion- does the approach always have to be activatedvia "activate approach"?



On 2/16/2008 10:27 AM, SimGuy wrote the following:

The point is this- loading the approach makes the IAF the active
waypoint, which I may or may not want.


No, it doesn't.
  #7  
Old February 16th 08, 06:49 PM posted to rec.aviation.ifr
Thomas Borchert
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 1,749
Default Garmin 430 rquestion- does the approach always have to be activated via "activate approach"?

Terence,

It sounds like the only
purpose of activation is to set the IAF as the active waypoint.


Hmm. You have me very confused now. What's wrong with the IAF, if
that's where the full approach starts (you mentioned no RV)?

--
Thomas Borchert (EDDH)

  #8  
Old February 16th 08, 07:10 PM posted to rec.aviation.ifr
Terence Wilson
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 28
Default Garmin 430 rquestion- does the approach always have to be activated via "activate approach"?

On Sat, 16 Feb 2008 10:47:11 -0600, Mitty wrote:

On 2/16/2008 10:27 AM, SimGuy wrote the following:

The point is this- loading the approach makes the IAF the active
waypoint, which I may or may not want.


No, it doesn't.


Sorry, I meant to say "activating".
  #9  
Old February 16th 08, 07:14 PM posted to rec.aviation.ifr
Terence Wilson
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 28
Default Garmin 430 rquestion- does the approach always have to be activated via "activate approach"?

On Sat, 16 Feb 2008 18:49:42 +0100, Thomas Borchert
wrote:

Terence,

It sounds like the only
purpose of activation is to set the IAF as the active waypoint.


Hmm. You have me very confused now. What's wrong with the IAF, if
that's where the full approach starts (you mentioned no RV)?

--
Thomas Borchert (EDDH)


Well suppose I am enroute and approaching the SGD VOR. At this point I
am getting close to my destination and want to setup the KCCR VOR
approach which starts at the CCR IAF. If I load and activate the
approach a megenta line will immediately be drawn from my present
position to CCR. Want I want is the route SGD, CCR ... KCCR.
  #10  
Old February 16th 08, 07:46 PM posted to rec.aviation.ifr
Thomas Borchert
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 1,749
Default Garmin 430 rquestion- does the approach always have to be activated via "activate approach"?

Terence,

Well suppose I am enroute and approaching the SGD VOR. At this point I
am getting close to my destination and want to setup the KCCR VOR
approach which starts at the CCR IAF. If I load and activate the
approach a megenta line will immediately be drawn from my present
position to CCR. Want I want is the route SGD, CCR ... KCCR.


I see. In that case, what's wrong with loading the procedure and then
waiting with activation until passing SGD.

Also, upon rereading the 430 manual I noticed that activating
vectors-to-final will always get you to the FAF. I could find no mention
of the automatic activation mentioned by someone. However, automatic CDI
switching (to VLOC) will only happen on an activated procedure, it
seems.

--
Thomas Borchert (EDDH)

 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Video clip of an "interesting" final approach & landing Elmo von Thud Aviation Photos 3 October 7th 07 12:54 AM
Friday 072707 in Oshkosh Pt 1 - the Raptor [06/30] - "F22 Flyby approach close 2.jpg" yEnc (1/1) Just Plane Noise[_2_] Aviation Photos 0 July 29th 07 06:36 AM
Friday 072707 in Oshkosh Pt 1 - the Raptor [05/30] - "F22 Flyby approach close 1.jpg" yEnc (1/1) Just Plane Noise[_2_] Aviation Photos 0 July 29th 07 06:36 AM
Has Anyone Used The "Approach Sport Hub Avionics Wiring Systems"? three-eight-hotel Owning 7 June 1st 06 03:28 PM
"End of an era: USN's Tomcats make their final approach before decommissioning" Mike Naval Aviation 15 April 5th 06 03:45 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2018 AviationBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.