A aviation & planes forum. AviationBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » AviationBanter forum » rec.aviation newsgroups » Instrument Flight Rules
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

flying LPV with Garmin G1000 & King KAP140 WAAS

Old July 2nd 12, 05:01 PM posted to rec.aviation.ifr
[email protected]
external usenet poster

Default flying LPV with Garmin G1000 & King KAP140 WAAS

I'm a little new to this airplane and tried to fly an LPV approach on autopilot.

I had the approach activated and was outside the FAF at approx 30 degree intercept, when I pressed AP, then APR. It turned on course properly but never captured the glide path. What am I doing wrong?

thanks

Rick

Old November 26th 12, 01:46 AM posted to rec.aviation.ifr
[email protected]
external usenet poster

ILS intercepts from above is risky, due to the existence of false GS.
LPV by itself doesn't have this issue, because the GS is calculated instead of directly received.
That said, a GS intercept from above might pose energy issues (you might accelerate too much), and the autopilot might actually be designed not to do that (how to know how steep to descend until intercept, while an intercept from below is pretty simple=keep level until GS comes alive).