A aviation & planes forum. AviationBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » AviationBanter forum » rec.aviation newsgroups » Soaring
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

New pilot looking for glider to purchase.

Old February 2nd 18, 04:02 AM posted to rec.aviation.soaring
Kirk Robertson
external usenet poster

Default New pilot looking for glider to purchase.

Hello everyone, I'm a new pilot looking for a decent affordable glider that's suitable for a newbie that I won't outgrow within the first year or two. I'd appreciate all suggestions and info of gliders for sale.

I'm currently flying my clubs 1-26 until I get the time in to move up to the DG101.

I'd like something with a decent trailer also as I'd like to drive around the west to fly at lots of different places.

Thanks in advance for any information. Kirk.
Old February 2nd 18, 04:10 AM posted to rec.aviation.soaring
Tony[_5_]
external usenet poster

a Standard Jantar 3 in a cobra trailer just came up on wings and wheels yesterday for 26,500 I think. I think that if that was in my price range I'd be very strongly considering it. Buy the best trailer you can afford!
Old February 2nd 18, 04:20 AM posted to rec.aviation.soaring
Tim Taylor
external usenet poster

Kirk,

Welocome to RAS. More details about you and what you are looking for will help others give you plentiful advice.
1. Your flight experience
2. Where are you located?
3. How tall are you and about much do you weigh?
4. What do you consider affordable?

Old February 2nd 18, 05:16 AM posted to rec.aviation.soaring
Kirk Robertson
external usenet poster

On Thursday, February 1, 2018 at 7:20:15 PM UTC-8, Tim Taylor wrote:
Kirk,