A aviation & planes forum. AviationBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » AviationBanter forum » rec.aviation newsgroups » Soaring
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

What powered skills translate best to glider?

Old September 14th 15, 03:33 PM posted to rec.aviation.soaring
Joel
external usenet poster

Default What powered skills translate best to glider?

I'm just learning to fly and decided to start with gliders (aerotow launch). However, as I joined a club its slow to build time and get experience. I was wondering if I could accelerate that with powered flight...

1) What powered flight skills could I concentrate on that would best accelerate the learning curve in the glider?

2) Would it be a better option to drive farther to get motoglider experience, or would the more nearby powered craft be just as good?

TIA,
Joel
Old September 14th 15, 04:09 PM posted to rec.aviation.soaring
Bruce Hoult
external usenet poster

On Monday, September 14, 2015 at 5:33:17 PM UTC+3, Joel wrote:
I'm just learning to fly and decided to start with gliders (aerotow launch). However, as I joined a club its slow to build time and get experience. I was wondering if I could accelerate that with powered flight...

1) What powered flight skills could I concentrate on that would best accelerate the learning curve in the glider?

Touch and goes, aka "circuits".

Circuit planning and the touchdown itself are probably what holds most people up in getting to solo. The flare and holdoff and touchdown are only five seconds or so, and you can only do it once per flight.