A aviation & planes forum. AviationBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » AviationBanter forum » rec.aviation newsgroups » Soaring
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

Spot or InReach ??



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #41  
Old May 13th 18, 04:55 PM posted to rec.aviation.soaring
Jonathan St. Cloud
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 876
Default Spot or InReach ??

My gen 3 spot sends and logs altitude data. Also sends battery status.
Ads
  #42  
Old May 13th 18, 05:27 PM posted to rec.aviation.soaring
JS[_5_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 194
Default Spot or InReach ??

Has anyone got Lockheed Martin Flight Services to link to their InReach?
I've only managed to link to FlightAware.
And does SPOT X claim to link these or similar functions?
Jim
  #43  
Old May 13th 18, 09:47 PM posted to rec.aviation.soaring
Paul Remde
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 1,550
Default Spot or InReach ??

Hi Jonathan,

No. I'm certain that no SPOT device so far has sent altitude data while tracking. I think you are seeing the ground elevation that is displayed by SPOT's web site on the tracking page - which assumes you're on the ground at each location.

Hopefully the SPOT X does sent altitude data while tracking. We should know very soon.

Best Regards,

Paul Remde
Cumulus Soaring, Inc.

On Sunday, May 13, 2018 at 10:55:37 AM UTC-5, Jonathan St. Cloud wrote:
My gen 3 spot sends and logs altitude data. Also sends battery status.


  #44  
Old May 13th 18, 10:52 PM posted to rec.aviation.soaring
2KA
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 173
Default Spot or InReach ??

Actually Paul, that is incorrect. Spot, starting with Gen 3 sends altitude data -- just not on their own web site. The altitude isn't displayed on the user's Spot shared web page, but is included in the JSON feeds used by glideport.aero and the SSA tracker, as well as on my own home brewed tools. I can assure you that it really is the accurate glider altitude, not the terrain elevation. I have flown with it and used it for almost a year now.

Some Gen 3 users may need to update their firmware to get it to work. And I have noticed that some older Gen 3 units seem to have occasional dropouts on the altitude data. Newer ones seem more reliable.

Lynn Alley
"2KA"
  #45  
Old May 14th 18, 01:49 AM posted to rec.aviation.soaring
Paul Remde
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 1,550
Default Spot or InReach ??

Hi Lynn,

That is great news. I had not heard that.

Best Regards,

Paul Remde
________________________

On Sunday, May 13, 2018 at 4:52:13 PM UTC-5, 2KA wrote:
Actually Paul, that is incorrect. Spot, starting with Gen 3 sends altitude data -- just not on their own web site. The altitude isn't displayed on the user's Spot shared web page, but is included in the JSON feeds used by glideport.aero and the SSA tracker, as well as on my own home brewed tools.. I can assure you that it really is the accurate glider altitude, not the terrain elevation. I have flown with it and used it for almost a year now..

Some Gen 3 users may need to update their firmware to get it to work. And I have noticed that some older Gen 3 units seem to have occasional dropouts on the altitude data. Newer ones seem more reliable.

Lynn Alley
"2KA"


  #46  
Old May 14th 18, 04:23 PM posted to rec.aviation.soaring
Jonathan St. Cloud
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 876
Default Spot or InReach ??

As a former mountain guide, I consider the compass somewhat useless, unless you are orienteering or in the "farmland in Minnesota" or any of the other flat, feature challenged, terrain, TX, OK, KS...

Out west, unless you know of a goal, distance and direction, Stay put and press SOS button. If you feel the need to hike out, follow drainage or the road that follows drainage. I couldn't care less if drainage goes north, south, east, or west. Having said the above I do fly with a compass on my paracord bracelet, and on the whistle in my smack pack.

I agree the map is a very handy feature, much better than a compass.


On Sunday, May 13, 2018 at 5:00:09 AM UTC-7, Paul Remde wrote:

...The unit can post to social media sites like Facebook, and it has a built-in digital compass.

I still like the color maps on my Garmin inReach Explorer+ for emergency "hike out" situations. But I only need that when I fly in remote areas in the Western USA. I don't need it when flying over farmland in Minnesota.

Best Regards,

Paul Remde
Cumulus Soaring, Inc.

  #47  
Old May 14th 18, 08:28 PM posted to rec.aviation.soaring
[email protected]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 11
Default Spot or InReach ??

Our Gen 3 spots send altitude in the tracking. It is also available to see on the Spot web site.

 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
inReach Explorer vs SE vs SPOT and tracking interval? [email protected] Soaring 4 December 18th 16 11:40 PM
Reminder to SPOT and InReach Sat tracker users... Sean Fidler Soaring 2 August 3rd 15 02:26 AM
InReach Se or Spot Satellite Messenger [email protected] Soaring 1 December 19th 13 08:24 PM
SPOT/InReach tracking for 2013 Senior Nationals [email protected] Soaring 0 March 11th 13 12:21 PM
Good News on Delorme InReach (2 min tracking and altitude vs. Spot w/10 min tracking and no altitude) Sean F (F2) Soaring 34 February 24th 13 12:46 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2018 AviationBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.