A aviation & planes forum. AviationBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » AviationBanter forum » rec.aviation newsgroups » Soaring
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

Flying with Parachutes

Old August 11th 18, 01:22 AM posted to rec.aviation.soaring
John Huthmaker
external usenet poster

Default Flying with Parachutes

I'm just starting out with soaring. Simple question for you guys. How many of you fly with an emergency parachute? It looks like they cost around $2000 online. Pretty steep price; although the cost is insignificant if it saves your life. Is this something I should be looking to purchase?
Old August 11th 18, 01:37 AM posted to rec.aviation.soaring
Bob Kuykendall
external usenet poster

On Friday, August 10, 2018 at 5:22:54 PM UTC-7, John Huthmaker wrote:
I'm just starting out with soaring. Simple question for you guys. How many of you fly with an emergency parachute? It looks like they cost around $2000 online. Pretty steep price; although the cost is insignificant if it saves your life. Is this something I should be looking to purchase?

You have to arrive at your own balance of risk and reward. Most folks that I know didn't wear parachutes during training. They generally started wearing them when they bought their own gliders and started doing flying with more risk exposure like contests or cross-country soaring.

I do remember one man who did wear a parachute while doing primary training in 2-33s. At the time I found it odd. Now I respect that he arrived at his own balance point of risk and reward and proceeded accordingly.