A aviation & planes forum. AviationBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » AviationBanter forum » rec.aviation newsgroups » Soaring
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

Handheld GPS

Old September 6th 12, 03:08 AM posted to rec.aviation.soaring
James Lee
external usenet poster

Default Handheld GPS

I am a new pilot with a few hours of solo time. The head instructor told me to get a handheld GPS and it was hard to decide which one. Finally I bought the Garmin Etrex 20 ($200).

It is easy to read in sunlight and has some glider functions like "glide ratio to destination." It is not a real soaring GPS but it does give you groundspeed, distance from "home," and a pointer back to the airstrip. Using this GPS allows me to concentrate on thermaling without worrying so much about getting lost. Also it lets you log your accomplishments!

My first flight with the GPS I soared in a 2-33 for almost 2.5 hours, gained 10k feet of altitude, and traveled 127 miles - all within a 5-mile radius of the airport!

Old September 6th 12, 04:17 AM posted to rec.aviation.soaring
Morgan[_2_]
external usenet poster

Default Handheld GPS

Congratulations Jim. If you convert the track log to an IGC file you can upload that to the OLC and play along with the other OLC addicts.

One thing to consider, create a waypoint or waypoints for your home airport and others, set the elevation of that waypoint to 1000ft higher than actual. That will then give you your L/D to the waypoint, with a landing pattern.

Morgan
Old September 6th 12, 04:53 PM posted to rec.aviation.soaring
son_of_flubber
external usenet poster

Default Handheld GPS