On Thu, 13 Jan 2005 22:36:05 -0500, "Peter Dohm" wrote:
However, I just received an e-mail from EAA, explaining the present meaning
of the term "repositionable gear" in the LSA rule. (Due to some really
unfair
competition from a well known retailer earlier today, I can not quite decide
whether this is the most stupid thing that I have heard or read today.) So,
sit
down and hang on... "Repositionable gear" apparently means that the craft
may be converted between land and sea operation while on the ground or on
the water, but not while in the air!
That's certainly the way the rule was written. However, I was told that the FAA
announced at Oshkosh that the gear rule was being interpreted to allow amphibs
to retract and lower the gear for each type of landing. Apparently that wasn't
the case....
Ron Wanttaja
|