A aviation & planes forum. AviationBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » AviationBanter forum » rec.aviation newsgroups » Owning
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

Anyone know how to update an old Loran database?



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old November 29th 03, 04:12 AM
Tom Jackson
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Anyone know how to update an old Loran database?

I have looked around on the 'net, and cannot find any reference to being
able to update an old Apollo loran database (like can be done with the
modern GPS units.)

I have an Apollo 604, with the latest update (1999, I think.)

It seems to me, that there must be some tech-wizards out there who could
figure out how to update such an animal -- i.e., there are a number of
places to get the "data" (FAA, DAFIF, etc.) - is there a way to configure it
in a file on a PC, then through some sort of interface upload it to the
"Flybrary"?

I think the Flybrary is probably some sort of EPROM (eraseable, programmable
read-only memory) that should be capable of being updated, if one understood
the protocol, data formats, physical connections, etc.

On the surface, this sounds doable - is it merely a pipe-dream?

At least, it could be a fun project for someone over these fine winter
months!





  #2  
Old November 29th 03, 04:41 AM
Ben Sego
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Tom Jackson wrote:

I have an Apollo 604, with the latest update (1999, I think.)

It seems to me, that there must be some tech-wizards out there who could
figure out how to update such an animal -- i.e., there are a number of
places to get the "data" (FAA, DAFIF, etc.) - is there a way to configure it
in a file on a PC, then through some sort of interface upload it to the
"Flybrary"?

snip

On the surface, this sounds doable - is it merely a pipe-dream?

At least, it could be a fun project for someone over these fine winter
months!



It's certainly possible, and it would be an interesting project. It
would have to be done for the project interest. Do you happen to have a
spare one lying about?

B.S.

  #3  
Old November 29th 03, 07:17 AM
Ben Jackson
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

In article W0Vxb.249031$9E1.1347467@attbi_s52,
Tom Jackson wrote:

I have an Apollo 604, with the latest update (1999, I think.)


Does your 604 lock on? I'm in the Pacific Northwest (GRI 9940?) and
bought a plane with a 604. It doesn't seem to acquire more than one
station (only one letter will capitalize).

I've just left it turned off but I can't tell if it's due to an old
database or bad antenna or what.

--
Ben Jackson

http://www.ben.com/
  #4  
Old November 29th 03, 02:34 PM
Tom Jackson
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

My 604 works great. Just has old data.

"Ben Jackson" wrote in message
news:NJXxb.344043$HS4.2929329@attbi_s01...
In article W0Vxb.249031$9E1.1347467@attbi_s52,
Tom Jackson wrote:

I have an Apollo 604, with the latest update (1999, I think.)


Does your 604 lock on? I'm in the Pacific Northwest (GRI 9940?) and
bought a plane with a 604. It doesn't seem to acquire more than one
station (only one letter will capitalize).

I've just left it turned off but I can't tell if it's due to an old
database or bad antenna or what.

--
Ben Jackson

http://www.ben.com/



  #5  
Old November 29th 03, 03:29 PM
Paul Tomblin
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

In a previous article, "Tom Jackson" said:
I have looked around on the 'net, and cannot find any reference to being
able to update an old Apollo loran database (like can be done with the


The best "update" on a panel mount Loran is to rip it out and give youself
another 2 or so pounds of useful load.


--
Paul Tomblin http://xcski.com/blogs/pt/
Using vi is kind of like having sex. The first time to use it, it's kind
of awkward, but after using for a while you start to get good at it and
enjoy it. -- Eric Merkel
  #6  
Old November 29th 03, 06:10 PM
Tom Jackson
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

What is wrong with a perfectly good piece of equipment, that religiously
scans through a series of pages, and continuously updates me on my course,
ground speed, distance to waypoint, ETE, etc.? As long as the system is
still up and running, I believe it is well worth the 2 pounds of useful
load - at least as a back-up to all of the other forms of navigation that I
use (VOR, handheld GPS, pilotage, etc.)


"Paul Tomblin" wrote in message
...
In a previous article, "Tom Jackson" said:
I have looked around on the 'net, and cannot find any reference to being
able to update an old Apollo loran database (like can be done with the


The best "update" on a panel mount Loran is to rip it out and give youself
another 2 or so pounds of useful load.


--
Paul Tomblin http://xcski.com/blogs/pt/
Using vi is kind of like having sex. The first time to use it, it's kind
of awkward, but after using for a while you start to get good at it and
enjoy it. -- Eric Merkel



  #7  
Old November 29th 03, 06:22 PM
G.R. Patterson III
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default



Ben Jackson wrote:

I've just left it turned off but I can't tell if it's due to an old
database or bad antenna or what.


LORANs work just fine with old databases. Many of them have an internal battery,
however, and when this goes dead, they don't work.

George Patterson
Some people think they hear a call to the priesthood when what they really
hear is a tiny voice whispering "It's indoor work with no heavy lifting".
  #8  
Old November 29th 03, 06:29 PM
G.R. Patterson III
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default



Paul Tomblin wrote:

The best "update" on a panel mount Loran is to rip it out and give youself
another 2 or so pounds of useful load.


Maybe you should take a look at the thread entitled "GPS Degradation in ZDC/ZNY
areas". My LORAN is old, but it has two real good things going for it - it works
well, and it's paid for.

George Patterson
Some people think they hear a call to the priesthood when what they really
hear is a tiny voice whispering "It's indoor work with no heavy lifting".
  #9  
Old November 29th 03, 06:52 PM
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I have both a II Morrow 618 Loran and a Garmin GPS in my aircraft.
The user interface on the Loran is MUCH MUCH easer to use than the
newer Garmin GPS. The Garmin interface is NOT intuitive and takes at
least twice as long to enter a go to point on the Garmin as it does on
the II Morrow loran. The GPS and the Loran always agree within less
than 1/2 mile so why get rid of a good navigation unit?

On Sat, 29 Nov 2003 15:29:24 +0000 (UTC), (Paul
Tomblin) wrote:

In a previous article, "Tom Jackson" said:
I have looked around on the 'net, and cannot find any reference to being
able to update an old Apollo loran database (like can be done with the


The best "update" on a panel mount Loran is to rip it out and give youself
another 2 or so pounds of useful load.


  #10  
Old November 29th 03, 07:54 PM
Jerry Springer
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default



G.R. Patterson III wrote:

Ben Jackson wrote:

I've just left it turned off but I can't tell if it's due to an old
database or bad antenna or what.



LORANs work just fine with old databases. Many of them have an internal battery,
however, and when this goes dead, they don't work.

George Patterson
Some people think they hear a call to the priesthood when what they really
hear is a tiny voice whispering "It's indoor work with no heavy lifting".


That is true, my Flybuddy quit working and I called Applo/Garmin/UPS to see how
much it would be to fix it and they said $250.00 just to look at it and replace
the batteries. I opened it up myself and found the internal batteries. (there
are two in the Flybuddy) I got the numbers of the batteries and then went on the
internet and found the same batteries for about $8.00. It was a very simple
matter to un-solder the old batteries and solder in the new batteries. Now my
Flybuddy GPS works as good as it did new.

Jerry

 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Database update at Landings Dr. Guenther Eichhorn Aviation Marketplace 0 May 11th 04 10:25 PM
Database update at Landings Dr. Guenther Eichhorn General Aviation 0 May 11th 04 10:25 PM
Anyone know how to update an old Loran database? Tom Jackson Home Built 8 December 3rd 03 02:15 AM
Garmin GPS-90 moving map Aviation GPS with latest Jeppessen database update installed Jerry Bransford Aviation Marketplace 5 October 2nd 03 03:31 AM
Database update for Foster LRN-500 loran? Ray Andraka Owning 4 September 3rd 03 06:08 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2023 AviationBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.