View Single Post
  #20  
Old August 30th 04, 01:35 PM
Dale Kramer
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Marc,

I can verify that this interpretation is correct.

In 1999, I used this interpretation and received my 1000km.

It was not easy to obtain with this interpretation and it took many
months of perseverance.

I believe I was the first to do this and I don't think they were happy
about my insistence on this literal interpretation of the rule.

It would be interesting to know if anyone else has successfully used
it.

I took off at Ridge Soaring with Altoona declared as a start and
finish. Three turnpoints were declared between and then landed at
Ridge Soaring. I got in wave on my way to Altoona and decided to fly
down to Cumberland for fun before I started. I was in wave when I
started at Altoona. I was able to use my tow release as my start
altitude and my finish altitude at Altoona for the 1000m calculation.

Dale Kramer
K1





Marc Ramsey wrote in message . com...
Denis wrote:
Stewart Kissel wrote:

Ok, this helps clear up an issue that has been bugging
me. I would be interested in anyone who could verify/comment
on whether a tow release could be used for a start...If
a Start Point had been declared.



No, it cannot (except reverting to a *free record* performance)


SC3 1.4.5.b says that distance using up to three turnpoints is "A flight
from a START POINT via up to three TURN POINTS to a FINISH POINT." Note
that is says "a START POINT", not "the START POINT". SC3 1.1.8 says a
START POINT is either "(a) The RELEASE POINT, or (b) A WAY POINT
declared as a START POINT, or (c) The midpoint of a START LINE." Note
that the pilot or data analyst can apparently choose between (b) and (c)
after the flight, as I've never seen a declaration form (paper or
electronic) that requires that you declare before the flight that you
are using a start line as opposed to a start way point (with OZ). Being
a computer programmer, I'd argue that the "or" in clause (a) has the
same logical precedence as the "or" in clause (b). Therefore, if you
have declared a start, it still seems to me that it would be valid to
use any of the START POINT options, including the RELEASE POINT. Have
you found a rule someplace else that would render this interpretation
incorrect?

Marc