A aviation & planes forum. AviationBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » AviationBanter forum » rec.aviation newsgroups » Soaring
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

FAI Sporting Code Section 3 experts wanted



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old August 30th 04, 01:35 PM
Dale Kramer
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Marc,

I can verify that this interpretation is correct.

In 1999, I used this interpretation and received my 1000km.

It was not easy to obtain with this interpretation and it took many
months of perseverance.

I believe I was the first to do this and I don't think they were happy
about my insistence on this literal interpretation of the rule.

It would be interesting to know if anyone else has successfully used
it.

I took off at Ridge Soaring with Altoona declared as a start and
finish. Three turnpoints were declared between and then landed at
Ridge Soaring. I got in wave on my way to Altoona and decided to fly
down to Cumberland for fun before I started. I was in wave when I
started at Altoona. I was able to use my tow release as my start
altitude and my finish altitude at Altoona for the 1000m calculation.

Dale Kramer
K1





Marc Ramsey wrote in message . com...
Denis wrote:
Stewart Kissel wrote:

Ok, this helps clear up an issue that has been bugging
me. I would be interested in anyone who could verify/comment
on whether a tow release could be used for a start...If
a Start Point had been declared.



No, it cannot (except reverting to a *free record* performance)


SC3 1.4.5.b says that distance using up to three turnpoints is "A flight
from a START POINT via up to three TURN POINTS to a FINISH POINT." Note
that is says "a START POINT", not "the START POINT". SC3 1.1.8 says a
START POINT is either "(a) The RELEASE POINT, or (b) A WAY POINT
declared as a START POINT, or (c) The midpoint of a START LINE." Note
that the pilot or data analyst can apparently choose between (b) and (c)
after the flight, as I've never seen a declaration form (paper or
electronic) that requires that you declare before the flight that you
are using a start line as opposed to a start way point (with OZ). Being
a computer programmer, I'd argue that the "or" in clause (a) has the
same logical precedence as the "or" in clause (b). Therefore, if you
have declared a start, it still seems to me that it would be valid to
use any of the START POINT options, including the RELEASE POINT. Have
you found a rule someplace else that would render this interpretation
incorrect?

Marc

  #2  
Old August 30th 04, 10:20 PM
Denis
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Dale Kramer wrote:

I took off at Ridge Soaring with Altoona declared as a start and
finish. Three turnpoints were declared between and then landed at
Ridge Soaring. I got in wave on my way to Altoona and decided to fly
down to Cumberland for fun before I started. I was in wave when I
started at Altoona. I was able to use my tow release as my start
altitude and my finish altitude at Altoona for the 1000m calculation.


If I understand, you did use your pre-declared start point (Altoona) as
start position - meaning that you actually passed through its
observation zone, and it was used for distance calculation ?

--
Denis

R. Parce que ça rompt le cours normal de la conversation !!!
Q. Pourquoi ne faut-il pas répondre au-dessus de la question ?
  #3  
Old September 1st 04, 02:11 AM
Dale Kramer
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

If I understand, you did use your pre-declared start point (Altoona) as
start position - meaning that you actually passed through its
observation zone, and it was used for distance calculation ?


Yes I did Denis.
  #4  
Old September 1st 04, 05:58 PM
Denis
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Dale Kramer wrote:

If I understand, you did use your pre-declared start point (Altoona) as
start position - meaning that you actually passed through its
observation zone, and it was used for distance calculation ?



Yes I did Denis.


OK Thus no problem in your case. But the case that Mark presented is
more subject to interpretation...

--
Denis

R. Parce que ça rompt le cours normal de la conversation !!!
Q. Pourquoi ne faut-il pas répondre au-dessus de la question ?
 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Run up for plug clearing Roger Long Piloting 78 October 18th 04 03:39 AM
ramifications of new TSA rules on all non-US and US citizen pilots paul k. sanchez Piloting 19 September 27th 04 11:49 PM
For Keith Willshaw... robert arndt Military Aviation 253 July 6th 04 05:18 AM
Ultralight Club Bylaws - Warning Long Post MrHabilis Home Built 0 June 11th 04 05:07 PM
Winch Experts wanted Ulrich Neumann Soaring 117 April 5th 04 06:52 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2025 AviationBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.