A aviation & planes forum. AviationBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » AviationBanter forum » rec.aviation newsgroups » Instrument Flight Rules
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

Contact approach question



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old January 31st 05, 02:50 PM
Dave Butler
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Gary Drescher wrote:

I was just looking at the NACO chart for GLS ILS 13
(http://makeashorterlink.com/?I14153A5A). Curiously, there's no exemption
from the procedure turn, even for the feeder route from HUB to SWANE. So
should you fly from HUB to SWANE, make an uncharted procedure turn outbound,
then turn around and come back in? Or is there a chart error?


Yes, make the procedure turn unless you're vectored to the final approach course.

What do you mean "uncharted"? There's a procedure turn barb on the chart.

There's a note "Procedure turn N/A for Cat E", so if you're Cat E you need to
have vactors for the final approach course, or use some other approach. Must be
some terrain or obstruction within the protected area for Cat E.
  #2  
Old January 31st 05, 06:40 PM
Gary Drescher
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

"Dave Butler" wrote in message
news:1107182845.199592@sj-nntpcache-5...
Gary Drescher wrote:

I was just looking at the NACO chart for GLS ILS 13
(http://makeashorterlink.com/?I14153A5A). Curiously, there's no exemption
from the procedure turn, even for the feeder route from HUB to SWANE. So
should you fly from HUB to SWANE, make an uncharted procedure turn
outbound, then turn around and come back in? Or is there a chart error?


Yes, make the procedure turn unless you're vectored to the final approach
course.

What do you mean "uncharted"? There's a procedure turn barb on the chart.


For the inbound procedure turn, yes. The outbound turn would have to be
flown after reaching SWANE inbound.

I emailed NACO about this chart, and they replied promptly that the omission
of NoPT for the HUB feeder is indeed a chart error, and will be corrected in
the next revision.

--Gary


 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GPS approach question Matt Whiting Instrument Flight Rules 30 August 29th 08 03:54 AM
GPS approach question Matt Whiting Instrument Flight Rules 8 November 1st 04 10:51 PM
VOR/DME Approach Question Chip Jones Instrument Flight Rules 47 August 29th 04 05:03 AM
Canadian holding procedures Derrick Early Instrument Flight Rules 24 July 22nd 04 04:03 PM
Established on the approach - Checkride question endre Instrument Flight Rules 59 October 6th 03 04:36 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2025 AviationBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.